top of page


SATAs Terms and Conditions

(1) The Sisters Anti Trafficking Awards, 2024


(1.1) The SATAs are the annual celebration of three sisters, as representatives of their congregations and networks, who have demonstrated exceptional courage, creativity, collaboration and achievement in the protection of their communities from human trafficking. 


(1.2) The SATAs are administered by Arise (, The International Union of Superiors General (, and the Conrad N. Hilton Foundation ( (‘Host Organizations’).  


(1.3) The SATAs are an opportunity:

  • To make the phenomenal work of Catholic Sisters (‘Sisters’) on the frontlines against trafficking known; 

  • To share knowledge and foster anti-trafficking efforts between congregations;

  • To broaden and deepen the protection of communities vulnerable to trafficking worldwide.


(1.4) The host organizations reserve the right to: (i) vary these Terms and Conditions, including but not limited to: a) cancel the awards at any stage, if deemed necessary. 



(2) Awards Categories


The Common Good Award - Despite adverse conditions and sometimes  scarce resources, sisters’ resourcefulness and dedication are leading to effective and sustainable work against trafficking across the world. This award winner will have demonstrated creativity and courage in their anti-trafficking interventions.


The Servant Leadership Award - Embedded in their communities, sisters are often uniquely placed to lead through service and develop long-term anti-trafficking systems and networks. This award winner will have contributed to the growth of such networks, and have facilitated collaboration across cultures and religions. 


The Human Dignity Award - The effectiveness of sisters’ anti-trafficking work is often due to their familiarity with local customs and vulnerabilities, and the trust they have from local communities. This award winner will have a proven record of effective anti-slavery work over a period of fifteen or more years.



(3) Eligibility


(3.1) For all three awards, laureates must:

  • Be a religious Sister whose work is supported by the leader of her Congregation and who has worked or is still working on the local level against human trafficking and exploitation (anywhere in the world)

  • Be a recognized advocate of human dignity, addressing the root causes of human trafficking;

  • Have proven that their way of working and collaborating is based on partnership, networking, and dialogue. 


(3.2) Nominees can be located anywhere in the world, and nominators will be required to state their relationship to the nominee.


(3.3) The Human Dignity Award will be won by a sister with at least fifteen years of anti-trafficking work.


(4) Nominations Process 


(4.1) Nominations Period

  • Nominations open on the 6th of December 2023 and close on the 10th of January 2024 – UN World Day Against Child Labor.

(4.2) Who can nominate?

  • Any individual or organization may nominate through the online nomination form, available in English, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, and French.

  • Nominations from the host organizations’ staff or boards (Arise, UISG and Conrad N. Hilton Foundation) will not be accepted.

(4.3) Who can be nominated?

  • The nominee must be a sister or a sister-led organization (who can be represented at the SATAs by a sister) undertaking frontline anti-trafficking work.

  • Self-nominations will not be accepted.

  • Directors, officers, and employees of the host organizations (Arise, UISG and Conrad N. Hilton Foundation) cannot be nominated. 

  • Nominees can only be entered for one award. 

(4.4) Nominations Process

  • Nominations can only be made through the online form on the Awards website, which will be available in English, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, and French. Extraordinary circumstances may be taken into account if nominators encounter difficulty in this process. Assistance may be given to nominators if required.

  • Nomination information, including personal details and contact information, will be kept secure and confidential by the host organisations and the selection committee, as laid out in Arise’s Privacy Policy.

  • Nominations are fact-checked and any missing information is requested.

  • The nominee is then subject to a background check, carried out by the host organisations. This involves contacting references and the nominees’ superior general, or someone from the general council of the Congregation of the nominee.

    • This internal background check has two objectives:

      • Ensuring the objectivity of the application;

      • Mitigating the risk of safeguarding incidents in regard to the nominee.

  • Once the background check is passed, the nomination is passed to the SATAs Selection Committee for assessment. 


(5) Laureate Selection


(5.1) UISG are responsible for the organisation of the selection committee. The Committee will meet twice to review all nominations who pass the initial background checks. 


(5.2) Laureates will be informed, confidentially, once they’ve been selected for an award. This will allow them to arrange visas and travel arrangements for the awards ceremony. The winners will be publicly revealed on the night. 


(5.3) Laureates will be asked to take part in video features to contribute to the awareness-raising goal of the awards. Laureates will be welcome to bring guests to the awards ceremony. Laureate travel and accommodation expenses will be paid by the host organizations, as well as reasonable essential costs. Laureates will expected to attend the ceremony.


(5.4) The Host Organizations reserve the right to rescind awards from laureates and re-designate awards if judged necessary. 


(6) Award Prizes


(6.1) All three award winners will be awarded USD $20,000 each, which can be pledged by the laureates to charitable organizations of their choosing. The prize money will be handled by UISG. 

Photo Credit: Lisa Kristine

bottom of page